top of page

Introduction to Exchange


I recently went on a trip to Seattle to go to the Rotary district conference, where I met with other Rotary Exchange Students, participated in a flag ceremony and other events, and was able to meet Rotarians and Rotaract club members from the district and around the world. It was definitely worth the trip. But it wasn't just the baseball game, walking around Pike Place Market, or trading pins with my new friends that made the trip interesting; I was also able to meet the people who were generous enough to help send me to Peru and learn more about what the Rotary does as an organization. The speakers at the conference had amazing stories, from how one man climbed Everest, to the incredible work doctors and Rotarians have done to eradicate polio in dozens of countries around the world.

The most exciting event, however, occurred at about 4:00 am the first night we were there. There had been thunderstorms and lightning for most of the night, and the power shut off while myself and my roommates were asleep. The power outage caused the alarm system in the hotel to go off, blaring loudly and repeating our instructions to exit the building. We quickly caught up with the rest of our group as we headed down the first flight of stairs, talking with strangers in pajamas and bathrobes about what might have happened. Most seemed more upset at the prospect of losing more sleep than an emergency. A few insisted that they could smell smoke. Once we had gone down two floors, someone came up the stairs to announce that we were allowed to go back to our rooms. We were finally able to relax, but the false alarm would be the punchline of almost every joke we made for the next couple of days.

Although I am now almost an official Rotary Youth Exchange student, I still have a lot to do before the details of my trip are finalized. I've yet to hear from my first host family and find out where I'll be living, but most of the process is already finished.

To be accepted into the program, I filled out my application, wrote a letter about myself, got my parents' approval, (the most intimidating part,) and went through the interviewing and nomination process before being interviewed again, and finally accepted into the program. Getting ready for the trip has been a long process, but it's taught me how to take the initiative to work for something that I want to do, and to be responsible for making sure it's completed quickly and thoroughly.

I can't wait to find out where I'll be continuing the adventure.

.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
Emily Cain
bottom of page